Saint Vitus (2019) – Review

Doom Metal from the United States

These pioneers of doom strike back with their 9th full length studio album, a self-titled just like their first one but referred by the fans apparently as the “Grey Album” and it was published by Seasons of Mist.

This musical effort consists of 9 tracks (1.”Remains”,  2.”A prelude to…”, 3.”Bloodshed”,  4.”12 years in the Tomb”, 5.”Wormhole”, 6.”Hour Glass”, 7.”City Park”, 8.”Last Breath”, 9.”Useless”). The 2nd and 3rd tracks are meddling, “A prelude to…” acting just like a… prelude, the voice of Scott Reagers being the perfect medium for this atmospheric  and bleak tune that transitions into the more energetic “Bloodshed”. The last song on this material tops it off in an unexpected way by being a purely punk tune. The general vibe on this material is one of impending doom, also being very dark, almost catatonic at times. The faster songs remind me of the early Maiden to be quite honest. Even though repetitive but not managing to get the hypnotic feeling quite that well, the melody blended in a nice way with the overall doomish atmosphere .

In terms of productions I think it was pretty well done. The lyrics deal with nihilism, imminent destruction and death in general.

All in all, I felt transported right in the late 70’s, these legends never making us forget where they come from.


No Comment

Leave a Reply



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


  • Lavina

    Lavina will perform at ARTmania Festival

    Lavina adds to the lineup of the thirty-seventh edition of ARTmania Festival. However, this year’s edition will take place between July 26th and 28th, obviously, in Sibiu. The band...
  • Cosmic Jaguar

    Cosmic Jaguar Unleashes “El Era del Jaguar”

    Cosmic Jaguar, the Ukrainian powerhouse in the death/thrash metal scene, has unleashed the highly anticipated second album, “El Era del Jaguar”. The band members, known for their relentless creativity,...

    Illusions Play released new single

    Emerging from the ancient echoes of Istanbul, atmospheric doom/death metal band Illusions Play announces the release of their latest single, Morning Dew.  The single came out on July 12th,...
  • Under Victoria

    Under Victoria released the third album

    Under Victoria, the one-man black metal project hailing from Melbourne, Australia, is proud to announce the release of its third LP, The Ephemeral. The eight track new album came...