Curse Upon A Prayer- The Three Woes EP- review

“Woe! Woe! Woe to those who dwell on the earth, because of the trumpet blasts about to be sounded by the remaining three angels!”

Curse upon a Prayer formed in 2010 in Finland. It has released 2 full length albums, one demo and one EP, last year on June 21st through Saturnal Records. You can recognize that something is good when you hear the first minutes of the voice perfectly matching with the whole atmosphere of the song. The first song “Let thy kingdom come” is my favourite track from the EP. A sound of classic black metal riffs, something you could barely hear on “modern bands”, opens with a drum fill which continues with blast beats.

“Thou shalt be cursed” is more into the atmospheric kind of vibe, with haunting vocals to top it off with (4:00); together with the vocals, riffs and everything else, I must give props to the drumming, as the album kicks off with an excellent sound and this energy lasts until it’s all over.

“Woe! Woe! Woe!” concludes the release with a seven minute journey into darkness, with haunting chords and screams of raw aggression which makes a darker sound for the vocals which continue to fill perfectly through a range of snarls.

Because everything good lasts short, this EP has only 16 minutes of playtime, and if you liked them, their sound, their vibe and everything else this might be the perfect opportunity to dig into this underground black metal band.

‘The Three Woes’ is an awesome EP, bringing with it the sound of the purest black metal with a perfect demonical voice and its lyrics are written as curse, blasphemous and anti Islamic themes.

Hopefully we won’t wait too much until they will release their next full length!


You can support the band by buying their stuff here on Bandcamp or via Saturnal Records  .

No Comment

Leave a Reply



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


  • Numento

    Numento released their third album

    Finnish modern death metal band Numento released their third full-length on June 7th, via Inverse Records. However, prior to the new album release, the band dropped a couple of...
  • Beyond Dystopia will drop a new single

    Beyond Dystopia, the progressive metal/melodic death metal/alternative metal powerhouse from Interlaken, Switzerland, is excited to announce the release of their latest single, Silence. It will come out on July...
  • Mortifer Rage

    Mortifer Rage released a new album

    Mortifer Rage, the Brazilian death metal band known for their intense and technical sound, has released a new album today, July 12th. Titled Plagues Requiem the eleven track material...
  • 11349

    1349 Drops Haunting New Track “Shadow Point”

    1349, the Norwegian black metal titans, have unveiled their latest sonic offering, “Shadow Point”, a haunting composition steeped in dark mysticism and cosmic horror. Vocalist Ravn describes the track...